Justices of the Peace elections set for November 3

On your November 3 ballot, along with Presidential Electors, two District Court Judges races, and various municipal elections every Ascension voter will be asked to cast a ballot for Justice of the Peace.  Three Justice Courts in the parish have jurisdiction over a wide range of civil cases where the amount in controversy is small.  All three will be contested in 2020.

Each Justice Court has a Constable, those positions up for election on the same ballot.

Justice of the Peace-1st Justice Court (West Bank)

Four candidates, all Democrats, qualified last week:

  • Dwayne Bailey
  • Andrew Falcon
  • Tameko Francis Garrison
  • Charles Sanders

Constable-1st Justice Court

  • Robert Gibson (No Party)
  • Jeffery Henry, Sr. (D)
  • Andrew “Banana” LeBlanc, III (D)
  • Murray Walker (D)

Justice of the Peace-2nd Justice Court

  • James Landry (R)
  • Christy Mayeaux (R), Incumbent

Constable-2nd Justice Court

  • Thomas Mayeaux (R)
  • Danny Thibodeaux (R)

Justice of the Peace-3rd Justice Court

  • John C. Hebert (I), Incumbent
  • Lynelle Johnson (R)

Constable-3rd Justice Court

  • James E. LeBlanc (R), Elected without opposition