Mayor Barney Arceneaux, Chief Sherman Jackson win fourth terms in Gonzales

Mayor Barney Arceneaux

Gonzales Mayor Barney Arceneaux was elected to a fourth term on Friday at 4:30 when qualifying for the November 3 election closed without an opponent emerging.  Chief of Police Sherman Jackson, also unopposed, joins Arceneaux as four-time electees to Gonzales two highest offices, the first coming in 2008.

Two City Council incumbents were also reelected without opposition.  In Division B Kirk Boudreaux won a fourth term.  Tyler Turner won a second term in Division D.

That leaves three council races contested, the most interesting being Division E where former Mayor Johnny Berthelot and former Councilman Terance Irvin will go at it.  Berthelot, a long-time Democrat who enjoyed six terms in the mayor’s office before winning two terms in the State Legislature as a Republican, had another change of heart (he’s running as an Independent this time.  The incumbent, Neal Bourque, decided to call it a career after one full term on the council.

In Division C the incumbent is Harold Stewart, first elected to finish the unexpired term of recalled council member, Timothy Vessel.  Stewart faces a familiar foe in Willie Robinson who he bested in that three-man race on March 28, 2015…and again on November 8, 2016.  Terri Lynn Lambert, the lone Republican candidate who qualified for Gonzales elective office this week, is the third candidate for the Division C seat.

In Division A incumbent David Guitreau is seeking a second term against Tim Riley.  Riley lost to Tyler Turner in a 2016 runoff for Division D.