Nine Council seats up for grabs; see the candidates

Nine of 11 Ascension Parish Council seats are being contested on October 12.  Two seats were unopposed; newcomer Chase Melancon won the St. Amant-based District 6 when current council member Randy Clouatre opted out; and District 8’s Teri Casso won a third term unopposed.

The most interesting, possibly a little disturbing, is the District 1 rematch from 2003 when “Coach” Alvin Thomas (65%) bested Oliver Joseph (35%).  Joseph would win a special election in 2006 after “Coach” Thomas was convicted of bribery.

Another rematch pits District 3 incumbent Travis Turner against former council member (three terms) Adrian Thompson.  Turner (61%) took the seat over Thompson (39%) in 2011.

In District 2 Joel Robert challenges incumbent, Bill Dawson whose candidacy was in doubt until recently.

District 4 councilman Daniel “Doc” Satterlee is seeking a third term against Corey Orgeron, fresh off a close electoral loss in a 2018 School Board race.

District 5’s Dempsey Lambert, seeking a fifth term, is pitted against late entrant, Cheryl Malbrough.  Malbrough threw her hat in the ring after purported candidate, Brandon Golson decided to forego the October 12 election.

District 7 is the only three-candidate contest with incumbent, Aaron Lawler, facing Kim Christy’s vigorous campaign and Devin Graham’s lackluster effort.

Todd Lambert, the council’s elder statesman, is seeking a sixth non-consecutive term, in District 9 versus Dal Waguespack.

District 10 sees incumbent, and former Gonzales City Councilman, John Cagnolatti challenged by Jeff Pettit.

District 11’s Benny Johnson is running for a fourth term against Michael Mason.