Three area state legislators reelected without opposition, three races contested

District 18 Senator Eddie Lambert

Senator Eddie Lambert has won a second term in District 18 without opposition.

District 81 Representative Clay Schxnayder

Representative Clay Schexnayder went unchallenged for a third term in the House of Representatives.

Ditrict 59 Representative Tony Bacala

District 59’s “Tony” Bacala won a second term without opposition.

There are three contested legislative elections in which the districts include, at least, parts of Ascension.  The most intriguing is Senate District 2 pitting…

The incumbent, Ed Price, is only the incumbent because he won a special election to fill his current opponent’s unexpired term.  Troy Brown resigned from the Senate to avoid expulsion at the hands of his former colleagues in Louisiana’s Upper Chamber.

The bid for District 88’s House of Representatives seats, thrown wide open when two-term incumbent Johnny Berthelot announced that he would not seek a third term, features three Republicans.

The District 58 race is not expected to be much of a contest with incumbent, Ken Brass, the odds-on favorite.