Gonzales Middle School November Bulldog Buck Bonanza Winners

On Friday, November 22, 2019, Gonzales Middle School announced the November Bulldog Buck Bonanza Winners. Students earn Bulldog Bucks throughout the month for academics and positive behavior.  They use the Bulldog Bucks to buy Golden Tickets weekly for various rewards.  At the end of each month, students’ Bulldog Bucks are placed in a drawing to win […]

Principals for Bluff Middle and Bluff Ridge Primary

Ascension Public Schools announces the appointment of leaders for two new schools. Rhonda Gillard will be Principal of Bluff Ridge Primary School, and Matthew Monceaux will be Principal of Bluff Middle School. “We have two outstanding Ascension Parish educators that will be taking on new leadership roles in January and helping us open new schools in […]

Groundbreaking for Sugar Mill Primary School today

Prairieville, La. — The Ascension Parish School Board will hold a Groundbreaking Ceremony for Sugar Mill Primary School on Friday, Nov. 22, 2019 at 11:30 a.m. This is the last of four new schools being built as part of the $120 million construction bond passed by voters in 2016. The new school is scheduled to open […]

Halloween Fun at Gonzales Middle School

Mrs. Carla Babin’s class dressed as the characters from the popular video game PacMan for Halloween. Pictured are: Kathleen Bordelon, Leilanie Quezada and Mason Reynard, seated. Back Row: Mrs Sandra Jones, Kavvin Westley, Scott Verdin, TyQuaz Briley, Ms Shawan Ester, and Neo Morris. The students from Mrs Carla Babin’s class pose with their principal while […]

Fortnite “In Real Life” Battle Royale at APL branches in November

Hey tweens, the popular online video game comes to life at Ascension Parish Library! Drop in, scavenge for materials, and try to be the last one standing! Join the Fortnite Battle Royale on Tuesday, November 19 at 4:30 PM in Donaldsonville, on Saturday, November 23 at 10:30 in Gonzales, or on Tuesday November 26 at […]

Local author, Shannon Cunningham’s “The Santa Princess” available now

Princess fans get ready! Ascension parish local, Shannon Cunningham (LeBlanc) has a children’s book this Christmas season that is sure to be a hit. Shannon, a lifelong resident of Ascension parish and a retired photographer from Studio S Portraits. During her photography days Shannon was most popular during the Christmas season because her late father, […]

Dutchtown High students decorate ornaments for National Christmas Tree Lighting

Geismar, La. — As the 2019 National Christmas Tree display is lit in front of the White House in Washington D.C. on Dec. 9, people will gaze in awe at 56 small trees surrounding the National Christmas Tree, each representing a state or territory of the United States. One tree will catch the eye of spectators […]

Recapping EA/St. Amant “Shoutout Week” (Gators get golf trophy)

For the past eleven years the Spartan / Gator club has been raising money for both these schools. We have given EA and St. Amant High Schools $173,000.00 EACH over the last eleven years. From the Golf Tournament that saw over 220 players play this week, to the freshman & JV double header, the collection […]

Lowery MS prepares for the Special Olympics Louisiana Bowling Tournament

Mr. Joshua and Latrell Jones practice Latrell’s bowling skills as they prepare for the Special Olympics Louisiana Bowling Tournament on January 11, 2020.  Mrs. Stevens and Ms. Allen’s classes along with Coach Bourgeois, Mrs. Foret, Ms. Harrison, and Ms. Woods visited the bowling alley.  Our team will be competing later this school year against other […]

Gonzales MS completes Miles for Money for Susan G. Komen Donation

During the month of October, Gonzales Middle School students and staff completed running and walking miles to raise money.The school was recently hit with the devastating news that Facilities Manager, Mrs. Henreitta Coleman, has been diagnosed with breast cancer. Therefore, the students and staff wanted to show support and raise awareness for a devastating disease […]